How we are supporting refugees and what you can do to help

How we are supporting refugees and what you can do to help

Help those most in need with what they need the most!

  1. DIVERSEcity Refugee Support Fund

    In response to the Canadian government’s commitment to resettle 25,000 Syrian refugees, DIVERSEcity established the DIVERSEcity Refugee Support Fund to assist with this ambitious resettlement plan.

    The Fund will support those most in need with what they need the most, including housing assistance, medical and dental supplies, toiletries, diapers, clothing and bus tickets. Contingent upon the level of funding received through this campaign, the scope of our efforts may be expanded to include additional programming based upon the needs of refugee resettlement.

    For those individuals and businesses who would like to receive a charitable donation receipt, please make your donation by contacting us directly. Please contact Jenny Chang, Manager of Finance at jchang@dcrs.ca or 604.547.1246.

  2. Assist with giving us leads on housing opportunities

    If you or someone you know are able to offer up free or subsidized housing/shelter, please contact Laura Mannix, Manager of Refugee and Specialized Programs at lmannix@dcrs.ca or 604.954.4009. We are looking at basement suites, apartments, room sharing, townhomes, etc.

  3. Assist with giving us leads on possible employment opportunities

    If you or someone you know is able to consider offering employment opportunities to incoming refugees or want to talk about some of the types of employment opportunities you are looking to recruit for, please contact Susan Woronko, Manager of Employment Services at sworonko@dcrs.ca or 604.547.2004.

  4. Volunteering your time or expertise

    If you have the ability to volunteer your time to support the resettlement of refugees or if you have a skill, knowledge or expertise you would like to offer, please contact Echo Gao, Manager of Settlement & Community Programs at egao@dcrs.ca or 604.547.1237 or Chanchal Sidhu, Manager of Settlement & Community Programs at csidhu@dcrs.ca or 604.547.1219.

  5. Learn more about private sponsorship at http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/refugees/sponsor
  6. Learn more about how I can help

    If you are not sure how you can help or would like more information about FRIENDS of DIVERSEcity initiatives, please contact Tahzeem Kassam, Chief Operating Officer at tkassam@dcrs.ca or 604.547.1274.